Great stories

on

Wishes do come true. But if we want something really good and real, we’re in for what basically boils down to a rather brutal boot camp for the mind and soul. The only way we can have everything we wish for is if we know who we are, if we love and most of all, trust ourselves. If we are not confident and sure of ourselves, insecurities and fears will forever distort our best qualities, sabotage our best efforts and prevent us from creating what we want and deserve.

But why such a brutal boot camp?

It’s very simple really. Imagine for a moment you’re looking to create a really strong rope that will hold you while rock climbing. How are you going to test it and make sure it’s strong enough? Will you hang pretty earrings on it, or will you hang the heaviest things you can find?

Same thing with personal growth. If you’re afraid, you have to face your fears. If you have baggage, you have to pick it ALL up, carry it and let it go bit by bit. There’s no cheating, no taking shortcuts, no PG-rated version of your inner demons.

That’s not to say you’re not going to be supported and helped along the way. But every so often, you have to be on your own and do it on your own. Just like a kid learning how to ride a bike. At some point, whoever’s running behind holding on to the seat and keeping the bike steady has to let go.

A few years ago, I stepped out into my garden, looked up at the sky and asked with my whole being: ”Give me what I need”.

Turns out the universe listened. And knew I am one who will not settle for anything less than the real thing. This time I was ready and I really, really meant what I asked for.

Wish granted. Problem is, I was thinking more along the lines of sunny meadows and rainbows, kittens and chocolate, romance and even a winning lottery ticket. You know, easy solutions and a few bonuses thrown in.

I was NOT thinking (to bring in my favorite story) of having to walk through Mordor, my Mordor, a journey that would force me to face all my darkest fears and worst nightmares. And when I say all, I mean all. (The universe is very thorough and accurate when it comes to these things.)

When we ask for change, for true happiness, for a beautiful and fulfilling life, we’re asking for a great story. And as we know from books and movies of course, great stories are built on the harshest trials, the most desperate struggles and apparently hopeless moments. Otherwise they’re not great stories. We simply don’t get to the “happily ever after” if we just float along on the easiest path, pedaling backwards when we face challenges.

The other day I came across a quote from LoTR…Aragorn’s of course.

“A day may come when the courage of men (or women!) fails. But it is not this day.”

And that sums up how I survived my journey.

I am writing this short post not as an ode to myself or my achievements. I am writing it because I can finally tell you with absolute certainty that we can all have our great stories no matter how long we’ve waited, no matter how many times we’ve failed before.

Your own great story is available and possible. Depending on what your fears and baggage happen to be, you may only end up journeying through some dark forests. Not all journeys HAVE to be through Mordor, but one thing is for sure…none will be a walk in the park either.

But don’t be scared. You are always protected and supported in more ways than you can imagine. There will always be a hand holding your bike or hovering near it…but it is YOU who must in the end learn to ride, so that YOU may experience the thrill of your own freedom and strength.

And for those moments when you might fall and find yourself in the dark, remember the light of Aragorn’s words…and you know it works, because that was a great story!

“A day may come when the courage of men (or women) fail…but it is not this day.”

(Oh and chocolate helps…:-)

Leave a Reply

