For a Happy New Year

I had a cheeky New Year post, very similar to the one on the same theme I wrote at the beginning of this year, almost ready to go. But it seems this day had other plans for my posting.

In the late evening, there was a favorite The Nanny re-run episode with a very happy ending of course, which left a sweet reminder of one of my favorite quotes…”once in a while, right in the middle of an ordinary life, love gives us a fairytale” (and shush you cynics out there…so what if Fran waited for five years…he didn’t take it back in the end so there.)

And then, there was a heartbreaking commercial for St. Jude’s Children’s hospital I watched with instant and significant tears while holding on as tight as I could to my 8 year old baby half asleep in my arms. God, there is so much need in this world…so much room for us to give.

And then, when I sat down to review the day’s writing and make a final decision, I drifted off on Facebook only to discover several photos of lions on my feed all at once: white lions with gentle blue eyes offering a quote by Eckhart Tolle “To love is to recognize yourself in another”, followed by a beige lion with a message about courage.

And THEN I remembered what I realized last night about faith…that tempting, familiar mystery, a contract our souls can choose to make with the universe and whatever metaphor for one-ness and light we each have. It is a sacred contract, and a difficult one, because it requires us to either take a risk and accept it completely, or else walk away empty handed. There are no half measures, no perks for signing, no rebates or refunds. Faith is an all-or-nothing deal. And I know this because I’ve been attempting to negotiate a part-time, trial basis kind of arrangement for a long time now, and it simply doesn’t work.

So, it seems my post today will not be the cheeky one I prepared. I’m not in the mood for clever remarks or humor with sharp edges. I have no lofty wisdom to show, and that soap box I often get on is the last place I want to be right now.

Today felt like a sentence that kept building up, going in different directions, and not making a point I could understand until the end. This is the end. And the end is a moment of simplicity, humility and gentleness.

I will keep to my original intention of presenting some suggestions for what we might choose to focus on in 2013, but I’m not going to write about them. It feels like images and only a few words will do.

So, here they are…inspirations collected over the past year. I think we’ve got all the important stuff covered.

perfect kindness

book of life

before2

Johnny-Depp-love-quotes

aesop

what makes you happywisdom2

appreciate

best things

overthinking2

dickens

dream job

do what is right

dreams

if you limit web

faith2

religion1

smooth seas

Yes, I believe we got it all covered. Now before I forget…whatever you do, don’t end up here….(see below…scary isn’t it)

inability to love

And on the other hand, DO try to get to someplace that kinda looks like this (yes, below, not the one above!) 🙂

beautiful honeymoon

Be blessed, have faith, try to smile as much as you can, dream, forgive, heal, and love, love, love with all you’ve got.

Thank you for joining me on this journey…and Happy New Year!

Oh…and one more thing…

love3

One Comment Add yours

  1. Of course your words of wisdom, as always, hits home. As I think about this coming year I intentionally and constantly pray for a better year than 2012. And I truly believe (there’s that faith thing that you mentioned – not the part-time, trial based faith, but the real deal) that this coming year holds great and wonderful things for all of us (especially you and me). We (you and I – and I’m sure many, many others out there) have been diligent, we have been thoughtful and kind, we have loved and lost, and we have had our hearts broken into thousands of pieces. We deserve a better year than this last one, we deserve happiness. And only we can make that happiness come true. *Hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

