Between the shadow and the soul

copyright enarcadie, silencetolight.com
copyright enarcadie, silencetolight.com

Relax…I’m not that good.

The poet borrowed that shadow & soul line from one of Neruda’s poems (and maybe you know that already, so never mind.)

I was rather pleased she took me seriously when I wrote about seeking “those difficult and necessary spaces at the edges of things, where there is always a surprise…just a tiny spot, a tiny bit of room to plant things that grow in love and useful uncertainty.” How refreshing to be quoting myself for a change.

In case nobody figured it out yet, I like to fuss about holidays and events that involve love and gifts and making a fuss.

Yes, I like sparkly things and princess dresses and believe that the older we get, the more we are able to understand how necessary the fairy tales and magic in our every day lives. (Yes, I’m stealing inspiration again, from C.S. Lewis this time.)

And since the Valentine’s Day is upon us, I was thinking how there isn’t a subject in this world that’s been more celebrated in words, music and every imaginable art form than love. We have so many big words and impressive works. I was planning on coming up with some myself as a special treat for my ego, and, for all of you generous souls taking the time to read this.

Yet in spite of my diligent efforts, the only thing I can say about love is that it is dwells in that familiar mystery of tenderness between the shadow and the soul.

And, that just like writing, I love because I know no other way…without knowing how, or when, or from where. (Yes, Neruda again…he came up with all the good stuff.)

Love is both a secret and not a secret…a surrender and a claiming…shy and daring…ruthless and always forgiving; the only fire that burns yet doesn’t consume, the only air that doesn’t dry or sting…the only water that overflows rewardingly, impulsively…while it fills a space that constantly and gently expands to become the perfect, imperfect vessel.

So…love deeply. Love trustingly. And allow, or better yet, embrace the contradiction: the certainty and necessary uncertainty of not knowing how not to love.

Just love.

…and “May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.” ~ J.R.R.Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Leave a Reply

