A poem for a dream

on

 

if you truly know me
please do not bind me with error or pride
with all that you do not understand.

you may know my true name
as you were the one who spoke it first
and spoke it last

but you do not yet know the song of my trees
or the shiver in my sleep
the salt in my tears
or the strength in my freedom
the secrets in my musings
or the smile in my new heart.

you know an old truth
gentle and trusting still, luminous and patient
but the new truth is a blossoming you did not witness
and it carries a gift not even i have seen.

if you truly know me
please do not shackle me with sadness or doubt
with all that you do not yet understand.

look, there is nothing to fear anymore
the ocean brings the same dream with each sunrise
it is like that, i am like that, and we are

the same and not the same
always home in the silence of the old songs
and in the magic of their not silence.

Leave a Reply

