How can they sleep at night?

troubled sleep

  “Your conscience is the measure of the honesty of your selfishness. Listen to it carefully.”

― Richard Bach, Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah

As one who always struggles to silence the mind and heart even over misdeeds long paid for, I’ve always wondered how some people can sleep at night.

I still wonder.

I understand selfishness, cruelty and ignorance. We are all guilty in some measure, at certain times.

But many don’t even acknowledge wrongness. And some who do, immediately excuse themselves with stories cushioned by those great and safe concepts of inevitability and necessity. Some even manage to achieve a complete transformation of wrongness into something desirable, right, and beneficial.

It boggles the mind.

It withers the soul.

It makes you feel old and tired.

Some days I throw my hands up in the air and keep asking…“gods, how can some people sleep at night?”

And then I remember my mother’s answer given years ago with sadness and humor:

“Very well my dear, they can and do sleep very well”.

Leave a Reply

